The Most Beautiful Place

Neskowin, Oregon

For a soggy Pacific Northwest kid, moving to Oklahoma was a bit of a shock.  We moved in June.  As soon as I opened the car door and stepped foot on Oklahoma soil, I was sure we were moving to the surface of the sun.  It was HOT, and HUMID. You know, the kind of heat that just sucks the air right out of you?  I felt certain my parents had lost their minds.

Fast forward over 20 years, and Oklahoma has become my home.  Though, I will admit, I am still not a fan of summers here.  But summer aside, life is good.  Jobs are plentiful, housing is affordable, and people are generally nice.  It looks nothing like Oregon, but I’ve learned to appreciate Oklahoma’s own unique beauty.  To say I’m happy would be an understatement.

But, every once in a while, I get to feeling a little nostalgic for Oregon, the weather, the green, the mountains, and the ocean.  So, today, while running, I was giddy as all get out (that’s an Oklahoma phrase, y’all,) when the sky opened up, and rain began to fall; cold, windy rain.  I was practically doing a jig in my cross trainers!

By the time I made it home, I was soaked and cold.  COLD, people! In September, in OKLAHOMA. It was fabulous.

So, tonight I find myself perusing pictures of my last trip to Oregon.  And pricing plane tickets.  I guess no matter how old you get, and where you go, you will always love the first place you remember as home, rain and all.

Yaquina Head tide pools, Oregon

Leave a Reply

