Nerdstruck

I wrote this back in January and sent it to Donald Miller.  Alas, I haven’t heard from him.  Not taking it personally, Don. This is all about being nerdstruck.  Enjoy.     -Love, Jenn

If I ever ran into a Hollywood star, one of two things would happen.  I would either walk past them, having no idea who they are, or I would see them and think, “Oh, that’s so and so.  How neat,” and walk on.  Needless to say, I’m just not that enamored with Hollywood stardom or fame.  I don’t get starstruck.

However, last night, my BFF (the hubs) and I went to hear Donald Miller speak.  I was extremely excited about this, as I love his writing and his often uncomfortable questioning of how we live out Christianity, of how we do life.  My husband, he was a bit lukewarm on the whole thing.

He’s thrilled!

In all fairness to this man, he had just spent 10 hours putting out fires at work and was exhausted.  Also, he doesn’t spend a whole lot of time searching for the meaning of life and getting all existential.  He goes out and creates meaning.  He kills something and drags it home.  He is the “make it happen guy.”  His whole job is about helping people do their best work. But, he loves me, and judging by the look on his face, he really loved me last night!

As we found our seats, and they were sweet seats people, I happened to glance up three rows and see this.

Look! Blurry Donald Miller!

Now, you might be thinking, “It’s a blurry picture of a dude. So what?”  But, let me tell you that “dude” was Donald Miller, The Donald Miller!  The author of Blue Like Jazz and the soon to be released, Scary Close.

So, being the incredibly calm person I am, I jabbed the hubs with an elbow and loud-whispered, “There’s Donald Miller!  Oh my God, it’s Donald Miller!”  My husband gave a nod and made a “uh huh,” sound.  Clearly he was not understanding the gravity of the situation!

“Look how close he is!” I loud-whispered again. “Oh, I should go talk to him!  Do you think he would take a selfie with me?”

My husband gave me a look that conveyed, “I love you, but you are such a nerd,” all at the same time.  It was a look of pity.  I hate it when he does that.

But, it became apparent at that moment, that while Hollywood and movies don’t get me all in a tizzy, authors and thinkers and entrepenurial creators clearly send me into giddy land. I was nerdstruck.  Nothing against, Donald Miller.  He’s not a nerd. In case you ever read this, Donald, you’re not a nerd!!!

After my husband’s reaction, I decided the best thing for me to do was keep my rear end in my seat.  No one wants to be that crazy lady at the Donald Miller talk, right?  Except, I still did, a tiny bit.  But, I reigned in the inner nerdchild, and stayed seated.

A few minutes later, Donald Miller was introduced and took the stage.  He was engaging, funny, authentic, and my very tired hubby ended up really enjoying it.  He talked about the three ways to attain meaning, to make an impact, to leave your mark. While there were things he mentioned that I didn’t necessarily agree with, there were so many things discussed that impacted my heart.  Questions like, “Are you waking up every day with a project?  Are you building community?  Are you finding redemption in the suffering?”

These are questions I mulled over last night. And this morning.  And probably tomorrow…  We have been given this one great, BIG life.  What are we doing with it?  Donald said, “We were not created to coast through life.”  And that stuck.  Is that what I’m doing, coasting?  Is that what I want to model for my children, coasting?  I have been in a coasting season for a while now.

I am about to enter a difficult season.  Long before Donald Miller and his awesome books, we decided to foster. It will be difficult.  There will be no coasting.  But are there other areas where I coast; work, relationships, family?

How about you?  What are your dreams?  How do you stay out of coast mode?  In what moments do you feel you are living to the fullness of what God created you to be?  Just some heavy questions to ponder over your morning coffee.  Let’s raise our collective mugs to always diligently living with purpose and, on occasion, allowing ourselves to be nerdstruck.

Have a great week friends.

Leave a Reply

